Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,826   Posts: 1,582,053   Online: 785

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Provia 400 vs 100

I just got back from the lab some nice Provia 400 shots and am quite happy with them. I never used this film before as I am just beginning my experiments with slide film. My images with Provia 100 were not that great and it seems all to be due to poor shutter speeds. WIth the 400 speed film, my shutter speeds are higher and the sharpness is all there. I do not see much grain at all in the 400 speed film so that was a nice surprise. The color is great and the lack of grain really gives these images some punch.

So I'm wondering two things. One, can Provia 400 be pushed to 800 with good results? Is the grain still OK?

Since 400 has such low grain, I am wondering if there is any serious advantage at all to Provia 100? Is the grain really that much lower if you can get the good shutter speeds? I might just forget about Provia 100 since the 400 looks so good.

Thanks for reading!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I've shot some of both, and the first time I used Provia 400 I too was very pleasantly surprised by how sharp and grain free it is, but I later also discovered that it isn't until you start making larger prints from the material that the 100 starts to really show its advantage in resolution and grain. On the other hand, the 400 makes more types of photography possible with slide film, like hand holding the camera becomes infinitely easier and accommodating. I've never push processed Provia 400. With such narrow latitude, it would seem that you would bury your shadow details pretty quickly, but if you're in really flat lighting you might get away with it.

With 645 negs - what do you do with the resulting pictures? Do you scan and print, or do you mostly use digital files as your final destination?