Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,873   Posts: 1,520,162   Online: 970

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Increase Sharpness, all variables

I am fairly new in color processing so bear with me. I've done B&W for a little enough while. I am now processing C-41 and printing RA-4 at home with all Kodak Chemicals. I shoot 35mm film exclusively.
    I fairly have some basics , but I'd like to know more in depth all the variables from A to Z to account for to get a very sharp print with good contrast. I know this is a broad subject, but I'd like to sumarize to make sure I have done all I can to get a very sharp print , short of coming close to Digital Prints, that is what I am familiar with. My early attempts to print something close to the quality of digital are far off of course.

I know some of the things that will influence sharpness and contrast are; the film used wth low ISO speed, lighting conditions when shooting, etc. but from the processing and printing perspective: what are the things to consider and work on to get a very sharp print with intense contrast. I have been printing in expired but frozen Endura Paper and wanted to try Fuji Crystal Type C , but that is not existing.

thanks for the tips and insight,

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    What you seem to know from "sharp" digital prints are algorithmic ways to boost perceived sharpness at the expense of image detail. If you are willing to go through the effort, you can do unsharp masking in the dark room, that's actually where this technique has been invented and named.

Apart from that, make a sharp color negative (decent lens stopped down a bit, good focusing and sufficient DOF, sturdy tripod, and so on, you know the drill), use a good enlarger with proper technique and your image should look reasonably sharp.