Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,300   Posts: 1,536,029   Online: 1042

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

JOBO CPE2 Processor: Is it any good?

I see them for sale now and again and I'm thinking of getting one. You folks out there who use them...what do you say? I've never done my own colour stuff before BTW so I'd be a total beginner. Has anyone got any advice?

Andrew

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Yes they are good, although the motor is the thing likely to go first. I had a new motor in mine 5 years ago and its OK, although I only develop sheet film. The sheet film spirals are good, but I did notice edge build up due to the film emulsion touching the spirals throughout development, so I glued a series of plastic 'pips' around the spirals to keep the emulsion side away from the spiral surface, and now my negs are remarkably evenly developed, so much so that I think it's the best way there is to develop film.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Andrew,
    Yes the Jobo gear is good and does the job. Used one for colour printing for a while and you can work at high temps OK. Would recommend you use two drums for colour printing as it makes the chore fo drying the drum out between runs easier (one drains whilst one is in use). The Jobo processors are now good value on the S/H market. I eventually sold mine and purchased a S/H Nova slot for colour.

Cheers, Neil.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Which formats and how much film do you need to process? The CPE is the smaller one right? If it is then it won't handle expert drums. Or much film either. If you want to use it for B&W it's even worse IMHO. So go up to the bigger model. CPA? Something like that. Stronger motor. Will handle 1litre of solution. Bigger tanks so the experts can be used. Used likely a similar cost.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images