Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,503   Posts: 1,543,429   Online: 858

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mounting Slides

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Mounting Slides

I have a question her for folks as I have NO experience at all in this matter. I have shot some slide film, both 135 and 120 (6 x 4.5) and the lab has returned the transparencies to me uncut and unmounted. How hard and time consuming is it to mount slides? How long to mount 36 exposures? How do you cut them? Are they permanently mounted (glued?) or can you remove them if need be.

I am thinking of shooting a lot of slide film but fear that mounting them will be an enormous task.

Thank you!

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    It was two weeks ago when I mounted slides first time in my life.

For me mounting one slide takes approx. half-one minute, including cutting. Probably half hour per 35mm roll is realistic estimation for me.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I mounted a few 645 slides a couple of months ago as I couldn't find a lab to do it for me.

Perfectly straightforward to do with a sharp pair of scissors, decent light and a pair of gloves to help avoid fingermarks (I used nitriles as i do in the darkroom).

I used Gepe mounts, which are plastic and come in two parts. They snap together - no glue. They can be taken apart again, but I found it a faff. Not sure why one would want to do so anyway (I only did so on one or two because I had to rejig the placement).

If I were doing a lot regularly, perhaps a mounting press would be convenient , but it's not absolutely necessary.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images