Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,727   Posts: 1,515,158   Online: 1040

Shooter
    35mm

Agfaphoto CT Precisa 100

Hello APUGers,

I recently bought a few rolls of Agfa Precisa color positive film and was wondering what you think about it. Do you have any suggestions/opinions how to get the best out of it? I have very little experience with slides and my first attempts with Fuji Velvia were quite hopeless. I am so used to color negative I can' t live without that wonderfully huge dynamic range and ended up with blown highlights and blocked shadows. But I was thinking to give myself a second try with a less contrasty film. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Mauro

Shooter
    Multi Format
    It's Fuji Provia 100. You'll find it lower contrast and wider range than Velvia but still nothing like neg film (or the late, lamented Astia )

You just have to get used to the range of it and expose for what's important to the photo if you can't control the lighting.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I haven't used the Precisa. But I can say that my most successful slides were when I embraced the idea of blown highlights and blocked shadows. By considering where to place that narrow window of three or four stops of good image exposure, you can choose to strategically employ those pure blacks or blown highlights. You can hide details that you don't want in the frame by letting them fall into blackness or whiteness, and you can work with the graphic nature of pure shadow. There is a character to the blacks on reversal film which is quite unlike anything else. When I switched from slides to neg, that was the hardest change -- losing those lustrustrous inky blacks.
    My other camera is a Pentax

Shooter
    35mm