Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,553   Posts: 1,545,006   Online: 768

Thread: I'm a beginner

Shooter
    35mm

I'm a beginner

Okay so I want to start to learn colour photography.
    Developing film is easy, but I want to know if developing colour photos is worth it.
    Like is it easier the more you do it? Do you lose a lot of paper/money in the process?

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images
    I would say no, but I'm sure others will say different.

“The contemplation of things as they are, without error or confusion, without substitution or imposture, is in itself a nobler thing than a whole harvest of invention”

Francis Bacon

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Welcome to APUG.

Color film development is no harder than Black & White film development but the temperature must be higher and tightly regulated.

Color printing depends on the darkroom and its setup as well as your skill. The first time I tried it, I had great success because of the setup and initial help that I got.
    Warning!! Handling a Hasselblad can be harmful to your financial well being!

Nothing beats a great piece of glass!

I leave the digital work for the urologists and proctologists.

Shooter
    35mm
    Depends how you are defining "worth it". If you mean it in the sense of financially worth it then unless you do a lot of prints at 8x10 or bigger and are at least semi-mechanised with a machine like the Jobo ATL then the answer is probably not compared to getting a mini-lab do them. My local mini-lab uses proper RA4, is fully mechanised and can give me small prints (6x4) quicker and at a price I would have difficulty matching.

If on the other hand you mean worth the experience of learning how to do it and the satisfaction of looking at a print and saying "I made this" then yes it is worth it.