Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,454   Posts: 1,570,502   Online: 1038

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Newbie. Canon Ftb Ilford Xp2 400 Super C41 mishap. I NEED HELP PLEASE.

Hello all, I have just joined and this is my first post, typically it's a disaster and I need help please.

I am new to film (technically I shot film at college in 1990) but since then haven't done anything until recently. Been very digital until the theft of my entire digital equipment so I decided go cheap and get a film camera.

So I just bought a Canon FTB for £5 and bought a Canon FD 1.2l 85mm with it for £200. Bargain I thought. The battery in it is a hearing aid battery and I have been compensating for it by attempting to over expose as I shoot. I have been using Ilford XP2 as it's still available in the shops where I live and is 400asa. I checked the meter with my iPhone and wifes camera and it seem accurate enough. So I went out shooting.

I took my first roll to a lab who promptly put scratches all over it and told me it was my crappy camera.

Upset with the attitude of the lab technician I decided to develop the next roll myself, well, how hard could it be?

I got a dark bag, got an iPhone timer app, spool and patterson tank etc. Didi all the usual spooling of the film etc. and started developing.

Although my roll did not have scratches on it it did have a lot of residue on the glossy side and is for some reason magenta where the lab's is grey. Plus a stupid amount of grain compared to the labs version, though all of the shots look a little under exposed.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0692.JPG 
Views:	53 
Size:	967.0 KB 
ID:	84597