Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,874   Posts: 1,520,173   Online: 1030

Page 1 of 8 1234567 ... LastLast

Shooter
    Large Format

Portra 160 vs 400

If you are in a controlled environment like a studio and have the lighting power to use Porta 160 would you see any difference using that instead Portra 400? I hear people love Portra 400, but I never hear much about 160.

I have very little experience with Portra since I shoot chromes.

Shooter
    35mm
    I'd imagine that it is possible with a 135 film and a print at a big enlargement. With MF then I'd love to see how big the enlargement has to be to spot the difference

pentaxuser

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I do not have a studio to use. I take photographs in "the real world". I use Portra 400 so that I can cover a large light range.
    Warning!! Handling a Hasselblad can be harmful to your financial well being!

Nothing beats a great piece of glass!

I leave the digital work for the urologists and proctologists.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Generally speaking you have better luck enlarging finer grained film.

Kent in SD

Shooter
    35mm
    Quote Originally Posted by Shootar401 View Post
    If you are in a controlled environment like a studio and have the lighting power to use Porta 160 would you see any difference using that instead Portra 400? I hear people love Portra 400, but I never hear much about 160.

I have very little experience with Portra since I shoot chromes.
    I don't know about larger format but since I shoot only 35mm I never use Portra 400. It's way too grainy for me. I use Portra 160 even when the light is low.

Shooter
    Large Format
    I should have expanded on my question.