Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,524   Posts: 1,543,883   Online: 975

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

EI for Portra 400

Newbie here, so please don't bite. What is the most used EI for Portra 400? I have so far shot at box speed and results have been good. However I was wondering if I could draw a bit more latitude from the film.

Thanks
    This message has no signature. :)

Shooter
    Multi Format
    It's personal choice. I like the results I get @200, I do 99% incident metering. It will depend how you meter scenes.

Shooter
    35mm

Hummm

I guess I don't quite understand your question. Do you mean you want more latitude so you can over- or under-expose more and still get okay results? It seems to me the latitude is there in the film no matter what film speed you choose to shoot it at. Or are you asking about something else? Good luck. Film rocks.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    400. Incident meter towards the light of your main subject @ 400.

I've accidentally heavily overexposed it before and it was useable. I've pushed it and shot at higher speeds and it was useable.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Quote Originally Posted by snapguy View Post
    I guess I don't quite understand your question. Do you mean you want more latitude so you can over- or under-expose more and still get okay results? It seems to me the latitude is there in the film no matter what film speed you choose to shoot it at. Or are you asking about something else? Good luck. Film rocks.
    I am trying to find out what EI-s are popularly used with this film while keeping the grain low. Also, if this film is exposed at 160, does it produce similar results to Portra 160?

I am primarily looking to under-expose without loss of detail.
    This message has no signature. :)

Shooter
    35mm