Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,822   Posts: 1,581,886   Online: 1155

Shooter
    Multi Format

Arista Rapid E6 kit, stabilizer?

I've been lurking APUG for a while but finally decided to post with a few questions. I started shooting film about 6 months ago and since then I've been developing my own B&W and, more recently, C41 film. I've been using the Arista kit because it was the cheapest liquid chemistry, and figured it would be most efficient since I can mix it in 1-pint batches. So far I've gotten something like half a dozen rolls out of my first pint and it's still working well.

Anyway, I have a couple rolls of slide film to process, and no affordable place to get them done. I once got a roll of 120 Velvia developed using the send-in service at Walmart, but it took about two weeks and cost $12, a lot more than the $4-5 people were reporting a couple years ago. Also, I'm certain they won't push process. So it seems like home-developing is going to be my best bet for E6.

So, looking at the online instructions for the Arista E6 kit, it appears that it contains 3 baths: first developer, color developer, and blix. However it lacks a stabilizer bath, and from what I can tell, doesn't contain formalin in any step of the process. Now what I've learned from reading many posts on this forum is that E6 requires formalin for optimal stability and possibly other reasons too. What's the best way to add formalin to the process? It seems like it's either used as a final bath, the same as C41 stabilizer, or a "bleach pre-bath" which I don't quite understand. It seems like the latter would be preferable because it doesn't result in potentially carcinogenic fumes from hanging the film up to dry, but would it be possible to make a "blix pre-bath?"