Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 75,713   Posts: 1,669,857   Online: 1021

Shooter
    Medium Format

Help! Film base colour and density isn't like the labs.

Hi,

I've started developing C41 at home, mostly Portra and some Agfa Vista. I have issues with the resulting colour base of the film, and (I'm new to this) but what I would term 'density' which I take to mean that the film, when held up to a light, looking nice and contrasty.

My control is Agfa Vista 200/400. Essentially I've had this developed by two different labs and the base colour is a nice 'thick' orange colour (with a very very slight purple tint) and is the same from both labs. When I've been developing the same film stock at home (I bought in bulk, they all have the same expiry) my film looks like a very thin shade of orange, almost with a slightly brown tint. The negatives don't look very contrasty either (low density?).

My setup is as follows:

Rollei Digibase C41 with Jobo CPE2. I start my timers about 1-2 seconds after I start pouring in the chemicals, and start to pour out 10-15 seconds (depending on volume) before the timeframe end. All chemicals and washes are at 37.8 +/- 0.2 deg (dev is always going in at 37.8). This is measured using a digital medical thermometer. After adding the chemicals I 'rotate-invert' twice by hand, give the tank a firm tap on the worktop, then let pop it on the Jobo at speed setting 2 :

1) Pre-warm drum and film for 4-5 minutes.
    2) Pre-wash for 3 mins.
    3) Dev for 3:15 (I know to extend to 3:30 after x films)
    4) Rinse 1 min
    5) Bleach 4 minutes
    6) Rinse 2 minutes
    7) Fix 6:30
    8) Rinse 4 min
    9) Rinse 1 min
    10 ) Stab 1 min