Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,677   Posts: 1,482,057   Online: 773

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Plastic Cameras

Anyone shoot 8x10 color film? Where is it avail?

I am taking a Color Photography course at the UofA this next semester, and I have NEVER done any color photography in my life! I shoot only 8x10 camera, so I was looking around online for some 8x10 color film...but could not find any! Does anyone make an 8x10 color film, or a better question...does anyone even shoot 8x10 color?!

I am thinking that I will have to start shooting 4x5, I guess. :-/ I do not even know where to start thought, with what film I should be using, paper, chemicals ect.

Sorry for the stupid, basic question. I have been shooting LF B+W for nearly 7 years now, so getting into color is like starting over from scrach for me.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    I have a supply of Astia from Freestyle, but I think they've sold it out, and it's becoming more of a special order item.

That said, you should be able to find a few types of E-6 and color neg film from B&H. Adorama has more on their website than they really have in stock. Also check Badger Graphic.

As to whether you choose to start with slide or neg film, see what the instructor advises before you stock up. 8x10" color film ain't cheap! If you shoot positive film and want to print conventionally, your only options right now are Ilfochrome or internegs (I'd go with Ilfochrome). If you shoot negative film, then there are a number of printing options that are less expensive than Ilfochrome.
    flickr--http://www.flickr.com/photos/davidagoldfarb/
    Photography (not as up to date as the flickr site)--http://www.davidagoldfarb.com/photo
    Academic (Slavic and Comparative Literature)--http://www.davidagoldfarb.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images