Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,557   Posts: 1,545,151   Online: 992

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Developed some colour (C41) but in need of guidence.

Hi folks, it's my first time here - so be gentle with me!

I've recently returned with gusto to 35mm photography having bagged myself a fabulous Contax G1.

Having studied B&W photography as part of my design course at college (about 15 years ago) I had no problems developing my own black and white negs.

However I just can't get to grips with C41 colour. My results are consistent but consistently poor.

The negs seem a little dense and lacking in colour - especially blues.
    The results through my neg scanner (don't have room for a darkroom at the mo') are very pale.

As I said the results are consistent - this is my 3rd roll developed (but I've used two different filmstocks so far).
    Each time I have strived for more temperature and timing accuracy than the last but with little improvement.

I'm currently using:
    Fotospeed C41 Press Kit Dev and Blix
    In a standard Paterson tub
    And have used two different thermometers (went digital for more accuracy) and monitored the temp at all stages
    Timed on my swiss railway watch.

Am I doing something fundamentally wrong?

All help and advice gratefully received!

Bob.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Bob, high density but lacking in color implies to me silver retention.

This would mean that the problem is with the blix. Film blixes are notoriously hard to formulate and this is why neither Agfa, Fuji nor Kodak recommend them.

You can try reblixing or you can get a 1 gal bleach and fix kit of any other brand and redo the tail end. Don't forget the stabilzer. If that does not help, then there is something else quite subtle going on.