Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,745   Posts: 1,515,640   Online: 813

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Separation Negatives and Masking

Hello -

I need to make separation negatives from a 4x5 color transparency with my enlarger. I took the transparency to a pro lab, and asked them to measure the density range. I was given three numbers: r=1.84, g=1.99 and b=1.77. The exposure scale of the "paper" the negatives will be printed on is 1.65. Does this mean I need to make three masks, one for each negative so that each one fits the exposure scale of the paper? I've never done this before, but this is what seems to make sense. This is for a color assembly printing process, but if I were doing RA-4, which of the three density ranges would be the mask be made for?

Thanks in advance.

Eric.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    A couple of books on making color separations for color assembly processes.

Pilkington, W. J. Color Separation Negatives. London, 1952.

Miles, Southworth. Color Separation Techniques. New York: Graphic Arts Publications, 1979.

See also, Mindy Beede, Dye Transfer Made Easy, Amphoto Books, 1981, for some practical ways of going about this without a lot of expensive sensitometry equipment.

And Kodak Q-7A booklet for the graphic arts. Maybe out of print but you can perhaps find a used copy somewhere.

Sandy

Shooter
    35mm
    I believe that making a single mask by white light that will reduce all three colors below 1.65 will suffice. You may also wish to make a highlight mask.

I wonder if you would not be well advised to have a lab make you an internegative.

Do you have a film punch?
    Claire (Ms Anne Thrope is in the darkroom)

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    san cristobal

what are you setting out to do with a color sep neg ???

d