Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,872   Posts: 1,583,478   Online: 1088

Shooter
    4x5 Format

Newbie/final project

Hey guys, i'm currently working on my final project (I'm a photography sophomore). I'm planning to shoot an abandoned children's home for my final project. I'm going to use a 4x5 and i plan to print on warm tone glossy #2 fiber based paper. I believe it will be 11x16 format paper. I want to get my paper to match the feeling of the setting i plan to present. That is, the feeling of abandonment, decayment, and timelessness. One of my ideas was to try to crumple up the paper to create a "used" look. The only concern i have is light hitting the paper during the process. I was wondering if you guys had any ideas on how the create the feeling i'm looking for. Also, any ideas for creating the same effect on the matboard frame? P.S. i don't have access to very many chemicals.
    thanks andrew

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    hotami, it looks like you have a good idea. I'm not sure about "crumpling" up the paper; it sounds like a gimmick. I think you would be better off using the image to convey the meaning you are trying to impart. There are a number of processes you could use that would give you that feeling. Best of luck, I would like to see how your results turn out.

BTW, you might ask a moderator to move this thread - you posted it in the "color" section, and obviously you want "black and white".
    Robert M. Teague
    www.visionlandscapes.com
    www.apug.org/forums/portfolios.php?u=2235

"A man who works with his hands is a laborer; a man who works with his hands and his brain is a craftsman; a man who works with his hands and his brain and his heart is an artist" -- Louis Nizer

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images