Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,678   Posts: 1,482,069   Online: 755

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Trip to Antigua (West Indies)--Colour film?

Hi there,
    I'm a relative newbie when it comes to photography. I own a Canon Rebel 2000 Film SLR camera. I'm going to Antigua for a month on an archaeological dig and would like to take pictures of people, landscape, etc. with vivid colours. I just bought a circular polarizing filter which will hopefully help with contrast/good colour saturation and I also bought some Fuji Superia? Reala 100 colour film. Is this a good choice for a trip to the caribbean?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

D-

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Superia isn't a bad film, you should do fine with it - it is a consumer grade film, and pretty balanced as film goes, though you won't get the most vivid colors from it.

My suggestion, if you don't mind using transparency film, would be Fuji Velvia 100 - it has quite vivid colors, and doesn't destroy skin tones like some highly saturated films. Velvia is quite stunning when it comes to recording the color of the ocean. It is my standard film.
    Robert M. Teague
    www.visionlandscapes.com
    www.apug.org/forums/portfolios.php?u=2235

"A man who works with his hands is a laborer; a man who works with his hands and his brain is a craftsman; a man who works with his hands and his brain and his heart is an artist" -- Louis Nizer

Shooter
    35mm
    Images