Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,872   Posts: 1,520,114   Online: 864

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

I need 2 minutes exposure for a good print in my darkroom

Hi everyone,
    I am quite new to using a colour darkroom. Altough I have printed succesfully at my school in colour. I have been setting up my darkroom at home, and went printing today.
    I succeeded in getting fine print. But I need 2 minutes exposure to get a print with the right density. I used f 5.6.
    2 minutes seems a bit long to me. I am used to 30 sec. or something, or faster. What could be the issue?
    I have my chemicals at 33 degree celcius, like the manual suggests, and have development time set to 60 seconds, also according to the manual.
    The lens is a fine schneider componon S f1/2.8 50mm.
    One other thing is the paper used. I used kodak ULTRA sheets 8 x 7 inch or something like that. Only is was not stored cold in the store, so the store gave me a big discount. they said it was fine paper to experiment and find my way around in the darkroom without spending to much money.

Has anyone an idea, on why the 2 minutes?

THANKS A LOT for letting me know. ALL the best - SAM

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    You didn't mention the filter pack. If you wind up with values on all three colors then you create neutral density which will drag out the exposure times. Reciprocity failure may then exert its influence at that point.
    Gary Beasley

Shooter
    35mm