Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,897   Posts: 1,521,015   Online: 820

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

C-41 bleach aeration

Hello all.

I've got an aquarium bubble stone for aerating my fresh Flexicolor bleach. I'd like to know what would be the best amount of time to be running it. Five minutes before processing? An hour? I'm an amateur who only develops sporadically so I'd prefer to avoid running it 24/7. TIA, Derek

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I'm lost. Does Flexicolor C-41 Bleach require aeration?
    Carpe erratum!!

Ed Sukach, FFP.

Shooter
    35mm
    If recall correctly C41 bleach can not be over aerated. It can be under aerated. I known nothing about the device you are using. I would imagine that if you bought a cheap electric mixer for cooking and dedicated it to using on your bleach and used for an 1/2 hour prior to procesing negatives that your bleach would be fully aerated. Build yourself a little stand to hold the mixer and use a container that is suitable and find an appropriate speed leave her rip.
    Claire (Ms Anne Thrope is in the darkroom)

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I think it depends on how you process. In something like a Jobo that rotates all the time air is being forced in the whole time. If you're hand inverting I'd expect a greater need to aerate.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    A popular misconception is that aeration regenerates the bleach.

It does, but does not replenish the used chemistry and so it still goes down in activity.

Placing 1/2 liter in a 1 liter jar, capping it firmly and shaking it for a minute or two will usually do the job, but to what purpose if you also need to rebalance the pH and add more NaBr and Sulfite?

PE

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I think I'm still slightly confused.