Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,813   Posts: 1,581,578   Online: 917

Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Needs some quick assistance! Colour slide film for photographing concerts

Hello,

Its nearly 3pm here in Melbourne and I have two hours to sort out what I should buy.

I have to shoot in colour slide film as the semester I'm studying for final folio is colour slide. We usually use 100 ISO Fuji sensia, but tonight i'm going to a gig in a dark bar to take photos of a band and I'd like to know what I should purchase.

i can't get any film higher than 400ISO but I was thinking I could push it a stop to 800.

The ones I'm looking at are:

Fuji Sensia 400 or Kodak Elitechrome 400

The person at one shop I rang to check their closing times suggested spending extra on the Fuji Provia ($36.20) but I want to have at least two rolls and $70 is wayyyy too much, though she assured me provia would be best to push.

Has anyone gone any suggestions/preferences to help guide my purchasing? (i'm going to the shops in 2 hours hence the time for feedback from you lovely people!)

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

too late, but advice for next time

If you are shooting in a bar, there is a very good chance that the stage/performance area will be lit with tungsten stage lights. Some are HMI units that are whiter in their light output, but most are just big incandesant bulbs in cans.

There are ektachrome and fujichrome T designated E-6 films that are meant for just such situations. They are colour balanced to be shot under these lighting situations with no or minimal filtration to correct for colour mis-match.

Daylight balanced films will need a big stop loser clour correcting filter. Then the fast film speed will be lost to the filtration.

I have used an Ektachrome 320T in such a situation and was very pleased with the results.