Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,276   Posts: 1,534,752   Online: 928

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

refridgerating film backs

hi guys. i am new to professional colour slide film and all the obsessive compulsiveness associated therein . but i want to learn! i've shot half a roll of velvia 100 (120 size) and won't shoot the rest for a few days. should i put the entire film back (with the film in it) into the fridge until then? i thought i could put it in a ziplock to minimize condensation. or is this a BAD idea? i've tried searching here and elsewhere but couldn't find anything about putting a film back with film in it into the fridge. thanks for your responses.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Bad idea. The film will keep well for a few weeks, just don't leave it on top of a radiator or stovetop.
    Gary Beasley

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    As glbeas says...a bad idea.

In fact a very bad idea.

Film is not organic meat or something like that!

It doesn't go bad if it sits at room temperature through it's stated shelf life, and well beyond. And if you just pulled it out of the fridge to shoot - putting it back into the fridge in the filmback will likely cause any ambient humidity to condense and really mess things up!

Use it as quickly as you can (without wasting shots just to "kill the roll") - but don't worry if it just sits around for a while. The film is tougher than you!

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    No - another example of "obsessive compulsiveness" not working for you.

Shooter
    35mm
    thanks everyone to setting me straight

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images