Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,770   Posts: 1,516,513   Online: 788

Shooter
    Medium Format

Kodak vs Fuji - fashion photography

I am just starting out in medium format. I am looking for a good color negative film for studio fashion photography.

I am interested in the difference between the Fuji 160S and 160C. I also would like to know how they compare to Kodak Portra 160NC and 160VC.

I appreciate any assistance.

PS. I have only shot digital previously.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Dunno about the Fuji, but this is a shot I did on Kodak Portra 160nc: http://life-electronic.net/blog/?p=332 VC is more saturated (VC=vivid color)

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by 5nap5hot View Post
    I am just starting out in medium format. I am looking for a good color negative film for studio fashion photography.

I am interested in the difference between the Fuji 160S and 160C. I also would like to know how they compare to Kodak Portra 160NC and 160VC.

I appreciate any assistance.

PS. I have only shot digital previously.
    I only shoot Kodak, but a quick search indicates that Fuji 160S and 160C relate to each other in the same way as Portra 160NC and 160VC, namely they offer normal and higher contrast and color saturation respectively. Portra 160VC is Kodak's official recommendation for studio photography, it would be my choice too as I like punchier color, indeed I would use it out of doors as well. The difference is noticeable but not enormous, you can of course change the contrast and saturation any way you want if you intend to scan the negs. If you have only shot digital before, be prepared to use more contrasty lighting with film. Many people also downrate 160 film and shoot it at 100 or so for better saturation (no change to processing).

Regards,

David

Shooter
    Multi Format