Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,965   Posts: 1,558,402   Online: 815

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Learning Colour? No Classes nearby, Book?

Hi, I'm in my second semester of photography at university, it's not my major, or even my minor, but I'm hooked.

Unfortunately, the local community college recently went digital, the university only does B&W, and I've got the fever.

I live in Northern Ontario, Canada, and I'm in school full time so driving somewhere else for classes isn't an option.

I've got the fever, so waiting for a few years until I'm out of school isn't an option either.

In fact, I'm trying to pick up a colour medium format enlarger as we speak, and am discussing a trade with another guy for a 5x7 large format colour enlarger.

But after I get it, then what?

How best to go about teaching myself how to do colour printing with aforesaid enlargers?

And what in blue blazes is a colour analyzer.

P.S. I'm Canadian and we do COLOUR photography, not COLOR photography. Will I still be using the same chemicals?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Kodak publishes a tutorial on negative and positive color processing and printing. It is a spiral bound book of about 100 pages with lots of illustrations.

It is the "Kodak Color Darkroom Dataguide", Cat # E156 9136. The latest edition I have is dated 1996, and it costs $22 US.

PE

Shooter
    Multi Format
    "Color Photography" by Henry Horenstein is a good book on the subject. It's available at Chapters online.

Rob.

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    Thanks for the suggestions Guys.

I bought Kodak color darkroom guide on Amazon PE, I have high hopes, and I like the only other kodak publication I've read (the art of seeing).