Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,295   Posts: 1,535,608   Online: 1134

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

I'm going to try colour printing -need help

I have been a hobbiest photographer with a darkroom for around 40 years, and I've never done colour. It's time I bit the bullet.
    I have done several searches on this site regarding printing in colour. I currently have a Beseler 23C with a dichro head, a few drums and a roller. I spoke to the owner of the local pro lab and he has agreed to sell me some of his bulk Kodak chemicals. After reading PE's posts, here is what I'm thinking of doing: (please tell me if I'm on the right track)

Purchase the following:

Kodak Developer replenisher -one bottle of liquid concentrate that is diluted 1:8 PE says that the starter is unnecessary. Should I use this as one-shot in the drum or mix up a litre and pour the developer back into the one litre container until it's time to mix up fresh developer?

Kodak Bleach/Fix replenisher -one bottle of concentrate that is to be diluted with water (can't remember the ratio). Should I use this one-shot in the drum or mix up one litre as mentioned above?

Do I need the stabilizer?

Here's what I have gathered after reading several threads from people who do colour in drums:

1. Pre-wet

2. Developer

3. Stop (Apparently Kodak indicator stop can be used)

4. Wash

5. Bleach/Fix

6. Wash

I would rather deal with the local guys for chems since the shipping on kits will kill me. I like to support the local guys too.

I plan on working at room temp (70F) and adjusting the times accordingly.

Am I on the right track?
    Thanks in advance for any advice.

Rick.
    Rick Jason.
    "I'm still developing"

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Basically you are on the right track.