Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,993   Posts: 1,524,258   Online: 1007

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

How can I remove anti-halation layer from C41 film

Hi all,

I'm home developing 5x4 sheet film in some home made tubes. My problem is that the film 'sticks' to the inside of the tube and the chemistry often doesn't completely remove the anti-halation layer from the back of the sheet.

This isn't a problem with black and white, as the anti-halation layer is water soluble and I could 'wash' it off after fixing.

As the C41 film doesn't seem to have a water soluble AH layer, can I put the film, after Blix, back into the developer to remove the AH layer, then a brief blix (1minute maybe) before the normal 5-7min rinse?

Sorry if this is a silly question, but I'm rather new to this 'homebrew" C41 stuff.

Thanks in advance

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I'm watching this thread... I did not think that C41 HAD an "anti-halation" layer.
    The respooled motion picture stock from Seattle Film DID, much to the horror of a few one-hour machine operators (one roll would gum up the whole works) but that was NOT "C41".
    I've developed a few (actually sgnificantly more than a "few") rolls of 35mm and 120, and haven't had to "remove an anti-halation layer" yet.
    Carpe erratum!!

Ed Sukach, FFP.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Sukach View Post
    I'm watching this thread... I did not think that C41 HAD an "anti-halation" layer.

Hmmm... that's got me thinking. I thought all films had an anti halation layer. Either way I'm getting streaks that look to be originating on the back, i.e. non emulsion, side of the film. I assumed it was an AH layer because I've seen the same problem when developing 5x4 B&W sheet film...

can anyone shed a little light on this (no pun intended)?

Shooter