Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,480   Posts: 1,542,693   Online: 831

Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Roller Transport RA-4 Processing

I've been doing tray work for 2 years now and it's getting tedious. How do other people run their processes? Is it worth looking for a roller transport processor? Where would I find a good one and how much am I looking to spend?

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Durst printo on flea bay. Look at completed sales listings to check out prices paid in previous auctions. Beware what isn't said.
    With the printo being modular you should be able to keep your system up and running for many years yet, courtesy of ebay.

Shooter
    35mm
    I batch process using a Kreonite. When I'm not processing the chemicals are stored in stainless steel beer kegs with an argon blanket. My current chemicals were mixed a year ago this month, and the only addition has been replenisher when I batch process. The Kreonite replenishes when the chemistry is in the processor and I mix the replenisher fresh for each processing session normally using a gallon of replenisher each processing session but I can't seem to keep the remaining developer replenisher from going really dark even with Argon in the glass bottle.

I would recommend the Kreonite over a machine with hard rubber rollers if the machine isn't in current production. The Kreonite uses a sock material against a stainless steel or plastic roller so there is no rubber to go bad in the processor.

I paid ~$1000 for the machine with stand, mixing panel, and some extra transports so I can process both color and black & white. The machine was in perfect shape with very low hours when I purchased it so I paid ~$500 more than what the normal going rate is.