Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,770   Posts: 1,516,518   Online: 771

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

My color film dilemma (rant).

I started shooting back in the mid 70's. You know the drill, take a High School photo course, and become immediately addicted. Back then, it was all Tri-X and Kodachrome 25 & 64 for me. Up until about five years ago, whenever I needed color snaps, I always grabbed a slide film. Keep in mind that color negative films of the 60' 70's and early 80's, were pretty crappy. And I never liked the Ektachromes that were so popular back then. I still have those beautiful Kodachrome slides from days gone by, and they still look fabulous.

Now, heres my quandary; today's modern color neg films are so good, easy, fast to develop and scan, that I find myself rarely burning slide film anymore. Heck, I have 10x16" inch and larger prints form modern 400 & 800 speed color neg films that look great. Wonderful color, fine grain, etc. And those are from higher speed color neg films! For commercial shooting, I can burn a few rolls of color negative film, drop it off for souping, scanning, and have it on-line for the clients perusal within an hour or so.

Does anyone still use slide projectors? I guess I just feel somewhat gulity for pretty much abandoning the fantastic slide films of today...

Kiron Kid
    "A photograph that mirrors reality, cannot compare to one that reflects the spirit"

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    For color film I prefer slides, kodachrome and Provia 100 then I project the slides in a leica Pradovit.
    Regards
    Matias

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Have to agree about the Ektachrome I never really liked the colours like many others in Europe I switched to Fujichrome back in the E4 days because the colours were just so much better for my work.