Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,948   Posts: 1,557,867   Online: 851

OK. First of all, by way of background, I'm a competent but still relatively new black and white developer with a hobo darkroom. My enlarger has a dichroic head, and I'd like to start making color prints and possibly developing color negs in my darkroom. I've never done color before, though I'll be taking a class through the local community college in the fall. Problem is, I live a good hour away from the college and I want to do most of my processing at home (I never have enough lab time). I've done it successfully with black and white and now want to give color a shot.

I'm also interested if any of you out there mix your own chemistry from raw materials. I presume this would give me greater longevity of my materials and allow me to mix just what I need for a given darkroom session, assuring the freshness of the solution. It would also presumably be more cost effective than premixed solutions and give me greater flexibility and control over the development process. There are certainly downfalls though, including the up front costs of equipment and learning the more manual process. If any of you have thoughts on this option and how viable it is, I'd appreciate it.