Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,953   Posts: 1,586,004   Online: 786

Shooter
    35mm

RA4 in a cibachrome tank

Hiya,

I might be able to get hold of a Cibachrome tank (11x14" size I think) -- which is the biggest I am likely to need anyway -- I've been doing RA4 at home successfully for a few months now.

I've been using trays though.

I was wondering -- there's no reason not to use a Cibachrome tank is there? Just roll the paper up and pour in enough chemical (dev, stop and blix) at the appropriate times and I can then do the chemical bit in daylight/normal light.

Are these tanks 'light proof' like daylight film dev tanks? Or would i need to switch off lights between the stages to change the chemicals?

Thanks,
    Vicky

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by lilserenity View Post
    Hiya,

I might be able to get hold of a Cibachrome tank (11x14" size I think) -- which is the biggest I am likely to need anyway -- I've been doing RA4 at home successfully for a few months now.

I've been using trays though.

I was wondering -- there's no reason not to use a Cibachrome tank is there? Just roll the paper up and pour in enough chemical (dev, stop and blix) at the appropriate times and I can then do the chemical bit in daylight/normal light.

Are these tanks 'light proof' like daylight film dev tanks? Or would i need to switch off lights between the stages to change the chemicals?

Thanks,
    Vicky
    Vicky:

I currently use the Cibachrome tanks for black and white RC, but they are/were designed for daylight processing of colour materials that require that the paper be in absolute darkness, so they should be well suited for RA4 materials.

You should of course check that there are no cracks and no other signs of physical damage that might cause light to leak.