Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,536   Posts: 1,544,232   Online: 737

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Using Kodak LORR chems for RA4 at home

I have been printing colour for about two years. I started by visiting the only (sort of) pro lab here in thunder Bay. The owner was willing to sell me some of the chems he was using for RA4 in his minilab machines, so I bought a bottle of LORR Developer/Replenisher and a bottle of LORR Blix. These are the chems that Kodak recommends for minilabs that have a good turnover, so I expected that the chems would oxidise quickly and have a resultant short shelf life. Nothing could be further from the truth. I bought a bunch of 250ml brown glass bottles from a guy on ebay. I think I got 84 of them for $20 plus shipping (another $30). I decant the concentrate into the smaller bottles so there is as little air space as possible to keep oxidization to a minimum. To make this long story somewhat shorter, the chems last really well in the small bottles. The original developer I bought two years ago is still the same light amber colour it was when I decanted it. When I open a fresh bottle, it gets pretty dark (about like rodinal!) by the time I have used up the small bottle, but it still works the same as the fresh stuff. In further web-based research, Kodak says that the efficacy of the developer does not seem to change as the colour darkens (up to a point I suppose). I decant the blix into the same bottles for shelf storage. The LORR blix is a single solution blix that is mixed with equal parts of water as a working solution. A 250 ml bottle mixed gives me 500ml of working solution. I get around 30 8X10 prints before the blix exhausts, so I throw the solution away after 25 prints. So the 5 litre bottle of blix will process 500 8X10 prints.