Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,933   Posts: 1,585,582   Online: 785

Page 1 of 10 1234567 ... LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

ILFOCHROME HOME-BREWED BLEACH

I’m a newbie on this site, but I’ve followed most of the threads on the dye bleach process for a while. As an organic chemist, I actually view the color darkroom as a laboratory, which can give me an artistic-emotional rush after each “experiment”. I think we are all aware of the convoluted, frustrating mess that Ilfochrome marketing has been over the last few years. We also know that the bleach step, and its precise chemistry has been shrouded in mystery for years. It is also obvious that it is this chemistry that provides all of the value-added for the process…and it is what you are actually paying for, big time. Currently, B&H is backordered on the P30 kits, while Freestyle can still drop-ship….with a $40 ship and hazmat fee added on top of the $100 for just two liters.

So, I have now come up with a chemical synthesis of the active dye-bleach catalyst used in all modern formulae….Quinoxaline 7K (see all online MSDS’s for bleach components).