Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,699   Posts: 1,482,608   Online: 816

Shooter
    35mm

Did I buy the wrong chems ?

I'm questioning if I bought the wrong chemicals now.
    This is my first time try at RA-4 printing. I bought Kodak Ektacolor developer kit to make 1 US Gallon (CAT 147 8817). I believe this is ok, but the bleach fix I bought is Kodak Beach-Fix and replenisher to make 5L (CAT 138 8701). I'm missing part B (I'll pick it up at the shop tomorrow) but is this ok to use for the blix ?

Also, I would like to mix small batches of the developer and blix as follows:

For the developer, I would take one fifth of each bottle (there are 3) + the required water to make up 760ml.

For the blix, the same one fifth of each part, to make 1L.

Is splitting the concentrates like this ok ? It would make things easier for me, for storing them.

Many thanks
    Steven

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    yes, you can split the developer lots and the blix lots. I would recommend take the part B ( I think that is the one with the developing agent ) and transfer it to a glass bottle that leaves little air space, or top the space off with (nitrogen/butane/propane - research past posts on this issue). The developer kit that I bought was to make 5L, and stored this way it is still viable tat I continue to mixing up from 3 year old concentrate (stored in a cool dark place most of the time).

The bleach fix and replenisher is like it says. Yes, its ok. The dilution instructions are on the box. It too will last a long time, longer than the developer once mixed, but again, mix up partial quantities in the right proportions.

Google Kodak Z-130, and you will find more RA-4 information than you ever could imagine.
    my real name, imagine that.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images