Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,806   Posts: 1,581,389   Online: 1080

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images

C-41 Times, doh!

I've been using Trebla's chemicals for my C-41 film for maybe 9 months +/- and getting good results.

Well it's near time for me to restock and since I now actually have a a bit of experience with C-41 I figured doing some research before I bought more would be productive, I was right.

Well what I learned is that I've been wasting a bunch of time. :o

I just (and this is my "doh!") "assumed" the standard Kodak times Dev 3'15", Bleach 6'30", Wash 3'15", Fix 6'30", Wash 3'15", Stabilize 1'30" were standard for the industry across all the chemicals.

Doh, doh, doh!

The PDF's I needed to understand this were a bit tricky to find, which is one of the reasons I missed this in the first place but I learned that times are not standard.

So here is my new regime inserting Trebla's times for the chemicals I actually have. I linked the PDF's here to make life easy for others.

TL-50 Developer @ 100f - 3’15” at least this remains the same

C-41RA Bleach @ 95f - 0’45” Minimum, extra time is allowable

Wash - 5x fill, agitate 0"30", and dump - ~ 3'00"

C-41RA Fix @ 95f - 1’30” Minimum, extra time is allowable

Wash - 5x fill, agitate0"30", and dump - ~3'00"

ELF Stabilizer @ 95f - 1’00” Minimum

Dry

Cuts my total time roughly in half.

Hope this helps others avoid my mistakes!

Doh!
    Last edited by markbarendt; 04-04-2010 at 03:40 PM. Click to view previous post history. Reason: Update
    Mark Barendt, Beaverton, OR

"We do not see things the way they are. We see things the way we are." Anaïs Nin

Shooter
    35mm
    Images