Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 74,124   Posts: 1,636,918   Online: 948

Shooter
    35mm

Silverfast Selection Marquee

I am new to developing and scanning and need some scanning advice. I use an Epson V750 with Silverfast AI. To date have developed about 10 B+W (Delta 400, HP5, XP2) and 10 color rolls (Superia 400, Ektar 100, Portra 800). I am learning and refining my process with each roll and have been pretty satisfied with my results. However, I notice that after I do a prescan, the color and brightness of all frames change depending on which frame the selection marquee is covering. This is especially noticeable with a mixture of day and night shots. A frame that I am particularly happy with may change as soon as I drag the selection marquee over it i.e. the brightness increases with especially washed out highlights. Is this normal and is there anything I can do to prevent this from happening?

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    This is probably not the best place to ask.

http://www.hybridphoto.com/forums/home.php

Would be a good place to start.

My word of advice though would be to scan all films as COLOUR slides and invert the resulting file for negatives.

You might have some luck speaking to Silverfast too.

My personal recommendation is to try printing optically with an enlarger. Far more fun

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Oh, and welcome to APUG.

It is good to see people using film, even if they are using hybrid output

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Welcome to APUG. This is one of the quirks of Silverfast but it doesn't have an effect on the final scan. Your final scan will show the correct brightness levels.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    If you switch to traditional printing methods you wont have that problem.
    Rick Allen
    Argentum aevum

Shooter
    35mm
    Images