Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,717   Posts: 1,483,100   Online: 979

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Enlarger choice for B&W and color

I appreciate that this is a frequently-asked-question and have searched the forums and the web generally for an answer, but I thought that I would ask again about some specific enlargers. I am very new to their use (used one in grade school, some 50 years ago), though I have a little photo-lab experience (developed tmax and E6).

I favor the local Craig's list to avoid shipping charges and the hassle of a possible return. Someone locally is selling a Beseler 23CIII-XL Dichro for $100+. Since I will be mostly doing B&W (I might get into color if the materials continue to be available after I get up to speed), is this a good choice? It is set up for 35 mm - I will be doing 120 exclusively and will need to buy an (80 mm?) lens of good quality and the negative holders, etc.

There are also a number of Beseler 67 systems, some with dichro heads being sold for a similar (or lower price) and a few B&W 23Cs, including one with a cold light head (this comes with several lenses and negative holders). Finally, there are a number of Saunders enlargers of various descriptions.

I am trying to avoid excessive accessory costs by buying a complete system (with trays, times, etc). It is interesting that the enlarger market is so soft that the prices are extremely low and there is little competition (for the buyer). The task for me is to get a good, serviceable system which meets my needs. Any suggestions would be welcome. Thanks.

Warren Nagourney

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images