Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,577   Posts: 1,545,719   Online: 788

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

A Primer for Choosing a C41 Home Process

There is quite a lot of information in the forum about the pros and cons of using various types of chemistry for processing C41, as well as the difficulties of buying certain types of chemistry. I know that most of what follows is re-hash, but I am hoping to create a thread that compiles a snapshot of whats available now, in 2010, and what is recommended. Please add pros and cons for any of the options below, and correct any false or misleading information I have written. If you are a beginner, please note that I am a beginner, too, and the information I have included is not to be taken as fact. Please, please, please follow the links to read what other, more experienced users have written. Also, I recommend reading the threads that the linked posts are contained in.

So, here is a list of what I can determine is available right now, and a quick pro/con list:

1) Unicolor press kit (this information may apply to other "press" kits that use blix instead of separate bleach and fixing steps)
    This is a kit of powders that is mixed into 1 liter working solutions and has an advertised capacity of 8-10 rolls. The instructions has a chart for using different temperatures at various times, using a rotary system, and 102 F for agitation.

Pros:
    • Cheap overall price
    • Available in small volume
    • Will last indefinitely until mixed
    • All the chemistry can be shipped via regular mail (This goes for the United States, not sure about any other country)
    • Comes with straightforward instructions, if you have developed b+w, you have all the tools and skills necessary to use this (this is true of unicolor kit, which has excellent instructions, not sure about any others)