Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,214   Posts: 1,532,120   Online: 1045

Shooter
    Medium Format

C-41 kit - What color are the solutions?

Hi,

I bought a Freestyle type II kit several years ago (might be around 10 years) and had the urge to use it today. Mixed the blix and the solution is a deep red brown - mixed the developer, same color.

I am assuming they went bad - am I correct?

Yes, a newbie question.

Dave

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I am surprised that no one has an answer to this? I was looking at another thread where the blix was shown in a soda pop bottle in a refrigerator and it was basically the same color as mine. Of course, mine was that color right after I mixed the powders with the water.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I have no experience with the Freestyle kit (nor C41), but I noticed that the Kodak document Z131 (for Flexicolor C41) states that the mixed developer should have an amber color.

I have been doing a lot of RA-4 (similar to C41?) recently using the Kodak chemicals and I noticed that the developer started out light amber and eventually became quite dark (darker than the blix) after about 30 8x10 prints using the same 1L solutions. This is, of course, well outside of the recommended 16 prints per liter. There was a definite color shift and change in exposure, though by compensating, I was able to still get good prints. For C41 negatives, this wouldn't work.

Based on this, I would be suspicious of dark brown developer, though I might well be wrong.

Warren N

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images