Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 73,984   Posts: 1,633,043   Online: 856

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Help restoring old photo collection

Hello everyone, long time lurker, first time poster. It's great to have such a large collection of analog photography users on the web.

My friend's house recently had a broken water pipe downstairs, and it affected many of his photos. All of his film is consumer-grade film and local photo developers (grocery stores, pharmacies, etc.) For example, using this website:
    http://www.hamrick.com/vuescan/html/vuesc24.htm
    and reading the codes on the film, some of his color negatives are marked:
    100-3 which is Ektar 100 Gen 3 (not sure if CX or SY?)
    200-5 which is Kodacolor VR 200 Gen 5
    They all seem to be C-41, is this correct?

I am an amateur photographer (THE photographer in my group of friends), so he turned to me for help. The only developing I've done on my own is black and white large format T-Max and Tri-X, a few years ago. Before that, I just shot 35mm and sent my film off for developing. Nowadays, I shoot mostly digital except for the occasional roll through a Nikon FE or N2002. I feel like I know how to handle film and prints, so I'm confident that I can undertake the restoration of these snapshots. Plus, it wouldn't be worth it to send these off to a professional conservator, as they're mainly just snapshots. If you guys don't mind, I'd like you to read over my workflow, and interject any advice you have or correct any misunderstandings.