Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,760   Posts: 1,516,052   Online: 865

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Plastic Cameras

HOW TO SELECT FILM/CAMERA FOR THIS AESTHETIC?

Dear APUGS,

I am posting this article as I need assistance in selecting a film/camera for a particular aesthetic. I am a third year student at a professional photographic college. I have extensively used digital slr's, 5"4 cameras, studios and have a collection of plastic cameras and old polaroid cameras.

I also have extensive experience in photoshop. The thing is, I am drawn to the raw aesthetic of film and havent had to much of an education in this realm of photography. Unfortunately, my college asserts that digital is the way of the future, therefore doesn't educate us about film. Some of my favourite photographers are Todd Hido, Stephen Shore, William Eggleston and Dash snow.

I am looking for find a film with a similar aesthetic to the colours of polaroid 600 film. I love the subdued warm colours and retro 70's vibe it has.

Please refer to these images.

Can anyone please recommend a film with a similar colour pallette to these images? Are these colours in the film, or to do with the processing? So far none of my teachers have been much help.

Courtney
    Last edited by court2407; 03-14-2011 at 11:04 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I know a lot of people who use Fujii Pro 400H to get this kind of aesthetic.

e.g., just randomly
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/naosun/4741162607/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/christoph_z/4570787335/

I'm sure you can try some good ol' Xpro. Here's what I did with CDU-II xpro'd

http://www.flickr.com/search/?s=int&...0&q=CDU&m=text

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I second rawhead's suggestion, also consider over exposing it.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images