Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,907   Posts: 1,584,610   Online: 959

Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    Images

My Ilfochrome Trials

Let me start out saying that I am new to printing Ilfochrome and this is the only color process I have used. Last night I printed a few nice 8x10s of this one scene. I got the colors just where I wanted them and the exposure just right. I decided that this image would look beter as a panorama so i decided to open a new box of 16x20 and cut it down to 8x20. Since this was a new box of paper I cut one sheet into 4 8x10s and one of those into 4 4x5s. I calculated the diferences in filtration and setup the enlarger. I made a few 4x5s and determined the new filtration was just right (I was amazed as this was the first time I had done this). I then made two new 8x10s on this same paper and found that they closely matched the old paper. By then I had run out of chemicals and it was late. So this morning I mixed up a new batch of chemicals and reframed the image to the 8x20 size. I made a 4x5 and 8x10 test image and found that everything was still working, so I cut a 16x20 sheet in half and exposed both halves. I ran these through the processor (Jobo) and when I pulled them out they were horrible. The whole image had gone magenta. I made another 4x5 test image and it again turned out fine, so I figured I had contaminated the drum. After washing everything out I tried again. Same result - mageneta. I then figured I had somehow ruined the batch of chemicals so I put them aside and mixed up another batch. And tried again with the same mageneta results. Finally my wife suggested that I try an old sheet of paper with the old filtration and a new sheet at the new filtration. I did this with an freshly cut down sheet of 16x20 and an older 8x10. The old sheet came out fine, but the new sheet was still magenta.