Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,296   Posts: 1,535,707   Online: 913

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

C-41 chem shelf life / Contaminated chems

OK, so I've been doing C-41 developing for a few months now, and have a few related questions.

1. Today I was on roll #3 of a Unicolor kit I just mixed up yesterday. (FYI, it was a roll of Polaroid One Film, ISO 200, 35mm, expired of unknown vintage, that came out completely blank.) I swear I've NEVER done this before, but I inadvertently started pouring my just-used blix into the developer bottle, which was already full and so it ran over immediately, alerting me to my mistake. I panicked and poured out probably about 200 ml of developer so I could get the most contaminated developer out of the bottle, but obviously some blix got mixed in. Should I scrap these chemicals or still attempt to use them?

2. I can't seem to get the same amount of shelf life out of my Unicolor mixed chemicals that other folks here on APUG are getting with theirs. I thought I was doing rather well with getting about 14 rolls steadily over the course of 6 weeks before the kit failed suddenly. With the latest batch I did about 10 rolls in only two weeks' time, then let them sit another two weeks before trying the chems again, and they failed. I've always stored my mixed chemicals at room temperature in Datatainer 1 L bottles with nearly no air at the top. Will refrigerating them make any difference? Or should I switch to a liquid kit like Rollei Digibase so I can mix only as much as I need?

Thanks in advance for any feedback you can provide.
    website | Flickr
    "Embrace the negative with absolution, your final positive reward." --IQ, "The Province," Frequency

msa
    Shooter
    35mm RF
    There's no dumping the "most" contaminated developer.

Your developer is tainted.

Remix.