Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,200   Posts: 1,531,494   Online: 986

Shooter
    Medium Format

Mystery Mydoneg Box, chem help ?

i just got given a box of chemicals from a friend of a friend, in the box there was

two 1 litre bottles with "part A developer replenisher potassium carbonate" written on the label

two 250 ml bottles

the first is labelled "Part B Dev Replenisher Hydroxylamine Sulphate"

the last is labelled "Part C dev replenisher p-phenylenediamine deriviative"

and thats is all, no guides or instructions... im no expert in chemicals and know nothing about C-41 as i only use E6 in the past, some googling provided me with no guides or instructions so i guessed asking you fellows in your infinite wisdom

any help would be appreciated greatly

many thanks Sx

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Well, they all are used in C-41 colour film development.

The part A K carb is the alkali - it sets the pH to allow the developer to work best, and at a rate that suits the three dye forming layers that are developing at the same time in all colour integral films.

The part B HAS is a dye restrainer of some manner, I recall form memory. My detailed notes are not close at hand. I believe it keeps dye development from one layer spilling into the next layer, but am not sure of the mechanism of how this would work to explain it.

The part C is a complex salt of PPD that is the colour developer agent. Likely CD-4. It is likely also in with some oxidizer inhibitor to keep it from going off all on its own. In colour film development the oxidation products of this long chain organic molecule link up with clear dye former elements manufactured into the film. When the oxidized developer component hits the dye former, a visible dye is created.