Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,573   Posts: 1,545,698   Online: 786

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Old Jobo Tetanol C-41 Press Kit - spoiled?

I've had a Jobo Tetenol C-41 Press Kit, 1 liter, powdered, that is many years old. I am not sure when I bought it, but probably back in 2003 or so. When I opened the developer packet, I noticed a lot of brown flecks in the powder. When I mixed it with 800ml water as directed, it turned out a somewhat turbid dark amber, almost brown color.

I'm guessing the developer is spoiled, oxidized, even though it was in a sealed foil pouch. Surely the developer shouldn't be brown. But I've never used one of these press kits before, so I figured I'd ask.

Can anyone confirm?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    After sitting a bit, the turbidity has disappeared. It is now clear, but it has the color of dark apple juice.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I developed two rolls of 120 Fuji NPS 160, and one roll each 35mm Kodak Portra 160 VC, Supra 100, and Ektar 100. The negs all look good.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I am going to go out on an limb and say that your old Jobo Tetanol C-41 Press Kit has not spoiled.

Steve
    Warning!! Handling a Hasselblad can be harmful to your financial well being!

Nothing beats a great piece of glass!

I leave the digital work for the urologists and proctologists.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Based on my results, I'd have to agree. But the proof will be in the printing. Even so, I am not going to push this kit beyond its recommended capacity, just in case that dark colored developer is a sign of aging. Now, time to order some RA-4 chemicals.