Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,691   Posts: 1,548,919   Online: 792

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm

"Best" color film

I say best in quotation marks because I realize that sometimes the "Best" one is the one you know and use the most. Anyways I have been using Kodak Porta 400 for a bit and I like the look of it but was wondering if anyone has any suggestions as to anything that might be considered THEE standard color film? And yes I am very new to photography so be easy!

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Well, we get these questions about every week. What you really need to be asking is what color film is "best" for your application. Portra is probably the standard for people work, Ektar maybe for more landscape negative color film, Velvia for landscape slide, and Provia for people slide. These are just guesses, but really we'd need to know what your intentions are before even offering an opinion on the "best".

Just my $.02
    K.S. Klain

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Jamie,

Once again another open ended question. What you will get is 100 posts and 100 opinions. What do you consider to be features for consideration. Format, speed. color balance, ...
    A rock pile ceases to be a rock pile the moment a single man contemplates it, bearing within him the image of a cathedral.

~Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Shooter
    35mm
    well im shooting some friends that ride bmx and skate so I guess people would be my application.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaime Marin View Post