Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,981   Posts: 1,523,824   Online: 1188

Shooter
    35mm RF

Which C41 kit for a first timer, and other noob questions

I'm comfortable with developing B&W at home, and would like to try C41. As a C41 noob, I'd appreciate some advice. If it helps, my colour processing will probably be sporadic - there could be a week between films, or maybe a month or two.

AG seem to be the convenient source for me in the UK, and they offer the Tetenal and Rollei C41 kits. So far as I can see, the main difference is that the Tetenal has a combined bleach/fix, while the Rollei has separate baths. Which is the better approach?

Does one kit give better results than the other? What about consistency of results over time, and the practical number of rolls one can expect for comparable volumes of solution (1L, say)?

Assuming a good rinse after each use, can I use my Paterson tanks and spirals for C41 and B&W without risk of cross-contamination?

Do I need extra storage bottles? It's hard to tell from the photos, but it seems that the developer comes in several parts in small bottles, so I assume that needs a bottle for working solution. The other liquids are in larger bottles - are they already at working strength, or will I need bottles for those as well? Do the bottles need to be dark, or are the 1L translucent plastic ones at AG okay? They will be stored in a cupboard which is only opened when processing film.

Is the temperature/time rigid, or is there scope to adjust one to suit the other?

Is it best to make up a full litre of working solution, or can smaller volumes be used (presumably with an adjustment to the number of rolls that can be processed)?

Is it neccessary to add time as solutions are reused roll by roll?

Can the stuff be used one-shot?

Are the cans of gas that prevent oxidisation considered a neccessaity?