Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,481   Posts: 1,542,709   Online: 966

Page 1 of 8 1234567 ... LastLast
    Shooter
    Med. Format RF
    Blog Entries
    Images

Kodak Ektar vs. the Portas

I've begun shooting some color again and have shot a few rolls of 120 Portra 400 and a roll today of Ektar 100. I know that the Portra films are excellent and always deliver stunning results. However, I have never used the new Ektar 100 before. From reading reviews on the internet it seems to be a "love, hate" film.

So what differences besides speed can I expect in Ektar 100 vs. Portra 160 or 400?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Ektar is going to have more punchy colors and noticeably more contrast. If it's people you're shooting, Ektar may not be the best choice as it's not the best for skin tones.

Shooter
    Med. Format RF
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Thanks, so the color saturation is higher as well as contrast. Something more like a transparency film, like Velvia?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by brian steinberger View Post
    Thanks, so the color saturation is higher as well as contrast. Something more like a transparency film, like Velvia?
    Indeed, as close as you can get to transparency film, but with more exposure latitude

CGW

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Quote Originally Posted by Franswa View Post
    Indeed, as close as you can get to transparency film, but with more exposure latitude
    For me, it's been more like E6 films in terms of exposure latitude--namely, there isn't much. Ektar isn't very tolerant of exposure errors relative to Portra.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by CGW View Post
    For me, it's been more like E6 films in terms of exposure latitude--namely, there isn't much. Ektar isn't very tolerant of exposure errors relative to Portra.