Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,566   Posts: 1,545,382   Online: 1035

jbl
    Shooter
    35mm RF

understanding a green/blue cast

Hi,

I'm new to color development and have had a few successful rolls now using the Digibase chemicals. With the help of this group, I've actually gotten pretty happy with what I'm getting.

I developed a roll of Ektar today and noticed a bit of a green/blue cast on the positive scans and I was wondering what I should be learning from it. My process is to scan using Vuescan using the feature where you can lock the color of the film base. In this case, the DNGs generated come into my software at 6500K with +10 magenta on the tint. I found that if I bump the whole roll to 7500K with +30 magenta things seem to look generally better.

I wondered if this is the result of my technique still being a bit rough or if this is just the tolerance of negatives under mixed light? The shot I'm attaching is under late afternoon sun. Would shooting a frame of a gray card help getting a sense of how far off my color balance is?

I don't have a lot of experience with C-41 in general, I've done more black-and-white and chrome work, so I'm not sure what to expect.

Thanks for all the help,

Jonathan

Edit: I'm processing using a stainless steel tank, manually agitated. This is the third roll or so that's been processed with this batch of developer.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 2011_10_Roll_03_Kodak_Ektar_100_34.jpg  
    Last edited by jbl; 10-24-2011 at 12:21 AM. Click to view previous post history. Reason: adding information

mts
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images