Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,904   Posts: 1,555,833   Online: 780

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

1st time E6 process-Comedy of Errors.

Now, I know why I pay $10 per roll for color120 !

Ok, today I attempted to develop my first color Velvia 100 film E6 processing. I used the Arista kit from Freestyle Photo. The kit mixed up alright, but there is definitely a process much different than B&W and a heck of a lot more painstakingly exact than what I am use to.

It is not something you can wing, but I never attempted it and I have been doing B&W for a couple of years now. The film is done and is hanging on the drying rack. I can't wait to scan it and really see how it came out. I really didn't do much studying of the process, but just mixed the solutions and followed the directions pretty closely.

It was really a comedy of errors, compared to B&W.. I ruined thefirst roll when I dropped steel container and the top came off.... F-Bomb. ok...X10.

So loaded a quick second roll... I kept everything at 105 degrees in a portable cooler and can understand why people use fish tank heaters to keep the water in the cooler and chemicals at a constant temperature. I wish I had videotaped it, because I could have posted it in the video section of APUG showing what NOT to do. It would have been funny. Keeping everything at 105 degrees +/- a degree or two was a feat. I felt like i was jumping around the darkroom like I was watching a Billy Blanks Tae Bo video. Now I know why real photographers where smocks. I now have new Blix Tie die clothing.

In a couple of hours I will do some scanning of the film in my new outfit...

Greg
    Last edited by Greg Heath; 12-10-2011 at 03:07 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images