Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,589   Posts: 1,545,886   Online: 1200

Shooter
    Medium Format

Exposure time when using Multigrade Paper and Colour Head

Apologies if this is a silly question, but I'm pretty new to this.

I've got a Jobo C6600 Enlarger and colour head. It works fine when printing on multigrade paper, except that the exposure times when using filtered light compared to full white light seem much longer.
    What is a normal time for printing using a colour head at, say, a grade two filter?
    I got my values from here , do they look correct?

I've only just started to print my own pictures in the Darkroom so simplification is appreicated

Thanks
    Nick

Shooter
    Medium Format
    P.S, what is 'extension factor'?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I couldnt load the link from my phone but basically when using filtered light there will be an increase of exposure time that will be needed to get more density. This varies from paper to paper and the correct filtration chart for your variable contrast paper should be included in your box of papers.

It is best to make test strips until you get familiar with your head and paper brand. Grade two filter is usually equivalent to standard white light in contrast, going up increases contrast, going down decreases. You can go both ways for split printing.

Extension factor has to do with the relationship between the distance of a light source and intensity of it. The further the light, the less intense, such as when raising the head up, you will need longer exposure.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images