Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,727   Posts: 1,515,207   Online: 964

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Question about VC papers

I hope that I can pose this question accurately. My writing very seldom goes along with my thoughts these days.

I am beginning to print my own negatives for the first time (since some straight printing "tries" some 18 yrs ago). I have zero experience with VC papers, but I would like to try some.

I frequently shoot Trix at 800-1600 on 35mm format, developed in very dilute HC110. My subject is very often people (children particularly). So my printing question relates to these situations for the moment.

I made some test prints last night using Kodaks RC, grade III, and the contrast is a bit more than I care for, increasing the appearance of the grain, and uneven skin tones, etc. Also, this paper is a bit cooler than I would want. Keeping in mind my negs are quite contrasty to begin with, I still have excellent shadow and highlight details.

Before I run out to get a gradeII paper, I am wondering how the VC papers work. I understand that the contrast is further controlled by filtration, but what is the relation of unfiltered VC paper to graded paper. And are there different "grades" of VC?

I would like a paper that will give me a slightly warmer tone than the Kodak also.

The enlarger is my early Christmas gift and a wish-list of books on the subject is hanging on the fridge, so currently, I'm "winging" it.

(Thanks to bmac for sending me his enlarger all the way from Callie. It is on my bathroom floor, but it is really awesome!)

ann

Shooter
    35mm
    Images