Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,518   Posts: 1,543,752   Online: 842

bvy

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Help Choose a Color Enlarger

I currently have a black and white enlarger that I use regularly -- the Omega B600. It works well enough, but I want to get into color printing this fall.

I've never used a color enlarger, and I have no experience with color heads, beyond what I've read about how they work. Is there anything in particular that I should ask or check (if in person) while shopping for a used one?

I'm looking at two at the moment:

Omega C760 on eBay (includes lens, carriers, timer, drums, etc., all which I'll need)
    $200 with free shipping
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/180924739535

Beseler 32 CII with color head on craigslist (includes one lens, easel and stand)
    $100, local to me
    http://pittsburgh.craigslist.org/pho/3110134315.html

Any thoughts on these? Both "appear" to be in good condition, though neither one looks perfect. I might go take a look at the Beseler this weekend. The auction has a return option if things go really sour, though I'd hate to have exercise it.

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    I have used both and can't find any real fault in either one, but since you already have an Omega, you may want to stay in the family for any parts that may be interchangeable. If you do go for the Beseler, make sure it is the latest model that allows you to align the negative stage with the eccentric nut on the backside of the bracket. Download a copy of the user manual and look over it before you look at it so you know what it should look like.
    www.gregorytdavis.com

Did millions of people suddenly disappear? This may have an answer.

"No one knows that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father." -Matthew 24:36

bvy

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images